HR 2726

4 11 2009

Counterfeit Drug Enforcement Act of 2009 also called “Tim Fagan’s Law”. I thought since I have been posting plenty of news articles, I thought I should post the Bill, so you know what is trying to be done about this silent epidemic on the legislative level. If you go to the Videos link you can watch a video discussing the legislation of this law.

This Bill is meant to amend the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act to increase the criminal penalties for the selling of pharmaceuticals that you know are altered. It is wanting to modify the requirements for maintaining records of the supply and custody chain of the drugs, to establish recall authority concerning drugs, and for other purposes.

I found this bill on www.govtrack.us. It is the latest version they have of the bill. If you would like to read more here is the link: Counterfeit Drug Enforcement Act of 2009.

I was wondering why this bill had another name of “Tim Fagan,” so I decided to look him up. When Tim was 16-years-old he had to endure a liver transplant. (Targeting Phony Pharmaceuticals)

He would wake up in the middle of the night having spasms and he would be in pain. There were no answers to his pain. No one could figure it out.  This went on for weeks, but only on the nights he was injected with Epogen.  His mother could not stand to see her son in pain, she didn’t even like  giving him all those shots. The family got a call from their pharmacy, CVS, and was told the Epogen could be a fake.

They investigate the label. There was one thing that was different on the counterfeit label than on the real one. It was a degree symbol that was missing from the counterfeit label. No one knew how this happened.

“I was absolutely frantic as to what this counterfeit medication might have done to my son in the short-term and in the long-term,” Kevin remembers.

I was shocked to find out that our system can be infiltrated. I along with Tim Fagan’s family am shocked that this could happen in the U.S. This is one of many stories of counterfeiting in the United States. This problem is widespread over the globe.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 11 2009
elizabethcjones

That’s really scary. I couldn’t imagine unintentionally poisoning my son… (not that I have one right now). But wow, that scares me a little bit. I wonder if there is a precaution in how they achieve their drugs. You would think right? They are a major company for distributing medication.

19 11 2009
mollietaba

It’s so awful that this can happen when we have so many agencies trying to regulate this in the U.S.

17 12 2009
kelseyo332

Poisoning my son? I can hardly imagine! I agree with Liz…is there a precaution in how they acheive their drugs?

Leave a Reply

