Fake Malaria Drugs

20 05 2013

I remember when I first researched counterfeit medicines. I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I remember reading sad stories of kids in Brazil dying of cough medicines, kids in Africa dying of antimalarials, etc. Drugs are supposed to be our safety net if something goes wrong. That safety net, is not safe for most of the people on the planet. Every good thing seems to somehow get tainted by evil.

I was on the Counterfeit Drugs Facebook page today looking up “Fake Drugs” and I came across a page dealing with fake malaria drugs. I would highly recommend everyone looking at it (hyperlink in the last sentence). There is also a petition on their website, if you click HERE, you can take a look at it.

Below is a video about fake malaria drugs. On their website, it states, “Every 45 seconds a child dies of malaria. A disease that can be cured with good drugsBut 1/3 of all malaria drugs sold in Africa are fake.” How can anyone have hope that they can be cured when what is supposed to cure them could have the potential to kill them too? This is a travesty. Informing yourself and informing others is a great way to start giving people hope.

Here is another video, below, about the story of counterfeit malaria drugs.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

